WoW #171 – Nameless Queen

Posted October 30, 2019 by Lillian in Features / 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event originally created and hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are all eagerly anticipating. Jill has been MIA since August of 2016. Despite this, the meme lives on….Hope you come back Jill! Until then I will be joining Tressa at Wishful Endings and her meme Can’t-Wait Wednesday.

Happy Wednesday y’all! I’m anxiously waiting on Nameless Queen by Rebecca McLaughlin. Well, I guess technically I’m not too anxious (I got an ARC) but I had to share it with y’all! Like last week’s pick, the title and blurb caught my attention. A Nameless Queen takes the throne. Nameless is a part of this fantasy world’s caste system. I’m intrigued and a little (no really, a LOT) excited to dive into this one. 2020’s YA fantasies are looking good so far!

Divider
WoW #171 – Nameless QueenNameless Queen by Rebecca McLaughlin
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers on 2020-01-07
Length: 352 pages

One girl must make a name for herself--or die trying --in this royal fantasy where an unknown peasant becomes the ultimate ruler. But how long can she keep the crown if everyone wants her dead? Perfect for fans of Furyborn, Red Queen, and Everless.

Everyone expected the king's daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me.

It shouldn't even be possible. I'm Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don't even get names. Heck, dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care.

But there's no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don't?

About Rebecca McLaughlin

Author Rebecca McLaughlin

Rebecca McLaughlin is a Michigan nerd who appreciates sweet coffee, kindness, and the scientific method. She got her degree in chemistry and creative writing in 2014. Since that time, she's worked as a technical writer in Michigan. When not working or crafting stories, Rebecca can be found practicing her knife-throwing skills or seeking out the perfect cup of coffee. She wrote Nameless Queen because she grew up lower-middle class (which was not ideal), went to a private college (which was weird), and made good friends along the way (which was wonderful). She realized that exploring the social and economic divide is difficult, but magic makes that exploration easier--or at least more entertaining.

Your Turn! What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Share below  

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Divider
Got a Reading Problem?

Get your fix here. Sign up today to receive new posts straight to your inbox daily!

3 responses to “WoW #171 – Nameless Queen

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.