WoW #159 – Kingdom of Souls

Posted July 31, 2019 by Lillian in Features / 12 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event originally created and hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are all eagerly anticipating. Jill has been MIA since August of 2016. Despite this, the meme lives on….Hope you come back Jill! Until then I will be joining Tressa at Wishful Endings and her meme Can’t-Wait Wednesday.

Happy Wednesday y’all! This week I’m anxiously waiting on Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron. Y’all!!! Did you read that blurb?! Go now, read it. I’ll wait….Do you see why I cannot wait for this book? I love fantasy, especially when it is tied into myth and legends. Witchdoctors and a Demon King? Yes please 😁 I can NOT wait!

Divider
WoW #159 – Kingdom of SoulsKingdom of Souls by Rena Barron
Series: Untitled #1
Published by HarperTEEN on 2019-09-03
Length: 496 pages

Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay.

The lush world building of Children of Blood and Bone meets the sweeping scale of Strange the Dreamer in this captivating epic YA fantasy debut.

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval.

There’s only one thing Arrah hasn’t tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit.

She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees… unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

Inspired by tales of folk magic in her own community, Rena Barron spins a darkly magical tale perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns or Shadow and Bone, about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and her own mother’s schemes.

About Rena Barron

Rena Barron Author

Rena Barron grew up in small-town Alabama where stories of magic and adventure sparked her imagination. After penning her first awful poem in middle school, she graduated to writing short stories and novels by high school.

Rena loves all things science fiction, ghosts, and superheroes. She’s a self-proclaimed space nerd. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading or brushing up on her French. Follow her on Twitter or Instagram at @renathedreamer.

Your Turn! What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Share below  

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Divider
Got a Reading Problem?

Get your fix here. Sign up today to receive new posts straight to your inbox daily!

12 responses to “WoW #159 – Kingdom of Souls

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.