Children’s Corner: There’s Nothing to Do! by Dev Petty

Posted September 25, 2017 by Lillian in Children's Corner, Features / 0 Comments

Happy Monday y’all! School is back in swing and we are finally getting a routine down. Little man got his progress report last week and I’m happy to report that he is currently getting all A’s 😀 It amazes me just how much he’s retained from Kindergarten and how much in just 6 weeks he’s already learned. He’s reading really well on his own now and I’m constantly trying to find him new books to read. I think it’s time we found our local library 😉

Currently Reading

Up Next


I received this book via Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of this review.

Children’s Corner: There’s Nothing to Do! by Dev PettyThere's Nothing to Do! by Dev Petty
Illustrator: Mike Boldt
Published by Random House Children's Books on 2017-09-17
Length: 32 pages
Reviewing Hardcover from Publisher
Rating:

In the next book in the I Don’t Want to be a Frog series, young Frog learns an unexpected lesson about how NOT to be bored. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog is bored. He can’t find ANYTHING to do—even when his animal friends make good suggestions, like sleeping all day, licking between his toes, or hopping around and then staring off into space. Will he find a fun and exciting way to spend his day? Featuring the beloved characters from I Don’t Want to Be a Frog and I Don’t Want to Be Big, this new story is sure to bring a smile to every kid who’s ever said “There’s nothing to do!”

There’s Nothing to Do! by Dev Petty is an engaging book about a young frog who is bored. Personally I really enjoyed this picture book. Not only were the illustrations eye-catching, the dialogue was simple and easy for new/early readers.

Frog is bored because there isn’t “anything” to do. He doesn’t like any of his parent’s suggestions: swimming is too wet, there’s nothing to play with, and he just cleaned his room. He decides to ask his friends for ideas of what to do. This leads him to a busy day of following his friends and still having nothing to do.

I think kids (and parents too!) will enjoy the ironic humor of having nothing to do in a room full of things. Especially now, at the end of summer with school back in session. How many times did you hear “I’m bored” or “There’s nothing to do”? I don’t know about y’all, but it was almost daily at our house. My son giggled at Frog when he was sitting in a pile of toys and said there was nothing to play with. Kids will benefit from seeing that it is ok to sometimes do nothing and being bored isn’t always such a bad thing.

I personally liked that this was an easy read for my new reader. He enjoyed being able to read this book on his own, only needing help with one or two words. I think boys and girls, ages 5-7 will really enjoy this fun story about having nothing to do!

Follow me on Pinterest for more fun Children’s Corner books and activities!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

Never Miss a Post

Sign up today to receive blog posts direct to your inbox.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.